Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Best bass in your opinion?? Plz help!

  1. #1
    Registered User illstyleblues's Avatar
    Join Date
    27 Jan 2010
    Location
    Bozeman, MT/Portland, OR
    Age
    26
    Posts
    315

    Default Best bass in your opinion?? Plz help!

    i can't seem to find a good sub/bass sound to use on my tracks. any suggestions? thanks cp fam.
    dj bint.

    Ain't nothin' like a cold forty when it's sunny and clear
    Ain't nothin' like a cold forty any day of the year
    Word up, although they say drinking is self-murda,
    I'm too drunk to understand, will you shut this nerd up?

  2. #2

    Default Re: Best bass in your opinion?? Plz help!

    i once used a Nexus bass, sample name "Dark Rollbass" (out of the XP Bass i think) on a really low note and it rumbled reeaally hard. cutoff as you wish. for pure rumbling i recommend a sinewave; pulse, square or saw sounds are getting kind of strange in the lower spectrum.

    whatever plugin you use, the compressor and the equalizer aren't there just for fun. just try to handle with them and it doesn't matter which sample or synthesizer you use. the compressor makes the sound more "punchy" and more kicking asses i'd say, the equalizer can be used to point some nice frequency spectrum out of the sound.
    I use FL Studio 9, the Multiband Compressor and the Parametric EQ 2 are really good plugins. If you use the Waves Mercury FX Bundle stuff, there are even better compressors and 10-band parametric EQs and stuff. i could get a boner thinking of them, they are just really, really, REALLY good.

    have fun!
    Fire

  3. #3

    Default Re: Best bass in your opinion?? Plz help!

    yes, probably that with Nexus + Waves you can get a good sound...
    FireDancer gave you excellent advice on compressor and EQ. Compressor is useful to give punch, the idea is to have an attack around 20ms, so you'll get a peak of powerful sound before the compressor kicks in.

    But personnally I use a 24Ko soundfont with only one note in it, and I play with GBand (a free vst by Gvst to simply apply low and hipass), with compressors, and with Baxxpander, a free vst that can really be interesting to add some lowend/saturation.
    (elogoxa.......VST Plugins)

    But once again, I give advices, but maybe you find my basses are weak, I don't know
    Last edited by frozenjazz; 07-05-2010 at 11:24 AM.
    FrozenjaZz (fresh beats with character)
    soundclick.com/frozenjazz

  4. #4
    Registered User illstyleblues's Avatar
    Join Date
    27 Jan 2010
    Location
    Bozeman, MT/Portland, OR
    Age
    26
    Posts
    315

    Default Re: Best bass in your opinion?? Plz help!

    where would i get nexus and others at? thanks to both of you for advice.

    Ain't nothin' like a cold forty when it's sunny and clear
    Ain't nothin' like a cold forty any day of the year
    Word up, although they say drinking is self-murda,
    I'm too drunk to understand, will you shut this nerd up?

  5. #5
    Junior Member The Backpack Kid's Avatar
    Join Date
    31 Mar 2010
    Location
    Canada, ON
    Posts
    28

    Default Re: Best bass in your opinion?? Plz help!

    Quote Originally Posted by illstyleblues View Post
    where would i get nexus and others at? thanks to both of you for advice.
    Try a torrent man (unless you're really uptight about pirating and stuff).

  6. #6

    Default Re: Best bass in your opinion?? Plz help!

    avaxhome.ws is a huge music portal. just check it out

  7. #7

    Default Re: Best bass in your opinion?? Plz help!

    id say the best bass is basic waveforms, you can work magic with a simple sine lol

  8. #8
    Member lilmoz's Avatar
    Join Date
    27 Dec 2007
    Location
    france
    Posts
    63

    Default Re: Best bass in your opinion?? Plz help!

    sample vinyls!!

  9. #9
    Registered User BassheadBeatz's Avatar
    Join Date
    30 Dec 2009
    Location
    Windy City
    Posts
    456

    Default Re: Best bass in your opinion?? Plz help!



    dont thank me thank da dude on youtube dat made it

  10. #10
    Registered User brandon54's Avatar
    Join Date
    29 Jun 2008
    Location
    Detroit, Michigan, United States
    Age
    26
    Posts
    244

    Default Re: Best bass in your opinion?? Plz help!

    Its one in the d-shine trapaholic kit in the download section its straight as hell i use it alot and i got that johnny juliano sine wave bass for the 3oscx generator. or you can try that new rob papen sub boom bass.
    iAmLegendary - www.legendarybeatz.com <------ CLICK HERE

  11. #11

    Default Re: Best bass in your opinion?? Plz help!

    bass...
    the more I listen to beats here, the more I tend to believe that bass is a thing of the past?
    I rarely hear any bass in these beats, I always find they are so "thin"...

    Is is the new trend?

    I love deep, low, fat bass... even though I have no subwoofers in my car

    I recently discovered this track, usually not my style, but wow wow, here the atmosphere is simply excellent, and the bass, the bass.... not sure what it is exactly, but it is huge, and well defined, precise, at the same time. I am talking about the one during the verse, not the chorus.

    Yelawolf - Pop the trunk


    I simply never hear such basses in these modern thin beats
    FrozenjaZz (fresh beats with character)
    soundclick.com/frozenjazz

  12. #12
    Registered User sobepmp's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Sep 2009
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    112

    Default Re: Best bass in your opinion?? Plz help!

    ^^Isnt that just an 808?

  13. #13

    Default Re: Best bass in your opinion?? Plz help!

    maybe a vey well tuned 8080 on steroids, yes ;)
    FrozenjaZz (fresh beats with character)
    soundclick.com/frozenjazz

  14. #14
    Administrator Crazy Pellas's Avatar
    Join Date
    25 Nov 2004
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Age
    29
    Posts
    24,136

    Default Re: Best bass in your opinion?? Plz help!

    Quote Originally Posted by Jeffrey Pachtman
    3x osc with distortion I use fastdist on fl studio and overdrive or heat setting it gives it some upper harmonics cha ching and compression with fast attack booyaaahh.
    via Facebook
    Iain Meddicks
    Founder of CrazyPellas / SendBeatsTo - Track what happens with your beats after you've sent them.

    Send me a message if you have any questions, or suggestions =]

    Like Us on Facebook / Follow Us on Twitter


    Official BlackWallStreet and Nu Jerzey Devil Gear

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
About CrazyPellas

CrazyPellas is a great music community that was founded in 2004, for Artists, DJs and Producers to Upload Music, Share Music and Get Feedback on your Music. We are constantly striving to improve CrazyPellas and ask you to contact us if you have any suggestions or if their is anything that we can help you with.

Connect With Us